Topic: 60 MHz bandwidth with FMC30RF  (Read 7074 times)

malles September 08, 2014, 11:00 AM

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Hi,

how exactly do we bypass the Low Pass Filter of the TRF3711 in order to be able to operate with up to 60 MHz bandwidth as mentioned on the web site of the board? We see a performance degradation when operating at 25+MHz and think that this might be related to this.

Thank you,
Matthias

malles September 09, 2014, 04:50 AM (#1)

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Hi again,

I had a look at the datasheet of the TRF371125 chip. The cutoff frequency of the chip in bypass mode is said to be 30 MHz (it's the 3dB point). If the low-pass filter isn't bypassed it's at most 20 MHz. So is it even possible to achieve 60 MHz (as promoted) at all?

Thanks,
Matthias

iklink September 09, 2014, 10:38 AM (#2)

  • 4DSP Staff (EU)
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 153
Dear,


You are right that the cutoff frequency in bypass mode is 30MHz on each output of the TRF3711. If you use I and Q, the total bandwidth can be upto 60MHz, however you will have to downconvert completely to baseband. So you will have to set the LO frequency to the center of your RF signal.


Best regards,
Ingmar van Klink
4DSP

arnaudNL September 11, 2014, 09:33 AM (#3)

  • 4DSP Staff (EU)
  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7110
Dear Matthias,


Was the information sufficient, can I go ahead and close this topic?


Best Regards,
Arnaud

arnaudNL September 15, 2014, 04:46 AM (#4)

  • 4DSP Staff (EU)
  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7110
Dear Mathias,


I will proceed with closing this topic in 24 hours from now without feedback from your side.


Best Regards,
Arnaud

arnaudNL September 17, 2014, 07:35 AM (#5)

  • 4DSP Staff (EU)
  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7110
This topic is being closed because the issue is considered as resolved by 4DSP. Feel free to create a new topic for any further inquiries.