Topic: Stellar IP external RAM support  (Read 10744 times)

tedjnsn March 26, 2014, 01:41 AM

We  have KC705+FMC150 kit and are considering getting FMC151 as well well as FMC116 plus some other modules. One of our sticking points though is that  we would like to be able to buffer up to a GB of ADC data in KC705 SDRAM in a single burst. I studied Stellar IP designs , as well as 4dsp master library  that came with FMC150, and there's a mention of  DDR buffer and DDR fifo, but it is not clear whether these SIPs are compatible with kc705, since they did not come installed or even documented in this board support package. Would it be possible to evaluate Stellar IP support of on-board RAM or, at least, read related documentation for these and other SIPs in master library?
  • « Last Edit: March 26, 2014, 03:45 AM by tedjnsn »

arnaudNL March 26, 2014, 05:18 AM (#1)

• 4DSP Staff (EU)
  • Administrator
Dear Sir,

What comes as free reference design does not include external memory no. Some firmware are having a 64kB FIFO which is built on top of FPGA block RAMs. We don't do much of such support for Xilinx evaluation boards because the core of our business are FPGA boards. Typically sip_ddr3_fifo is a FIFO supported by our carriers FC6301 but not for KC705.

You can decide to get 4DSP to develop a streaming firmware for your convenience. If this is a path you want to take, contact sales@4dsp.com

Best Regards,
Arnaud

tedjnsn March 26, 2014, 10:41 AM (#2)

Dear Arnaud,

Thanks for quick reply. I notice sip_ml605_ddr3_fifo in main library, which is, I assume, for Xilinx ml605 evaluation board. Would it be possible to access documentation for this module, or obtain the module itself for reference? Same request for sip_kc705_host_if etc.