Topic: Is it possible to configure VC707 & FMC30RF without PC?  (Read 5492 times)

rickyxrq May 08, 2014, 07:56 AM

Dear 4DSP,

I am a college student in China and my graduation task is to configure VC707 & FMC30RF without PC, which means that my teacher wants me to modify the reference design with Xilinx ISE and set some fixed configuration on the cards. I am not sure if it's possible to do so and I find the simulation in ISE Project Navigator is rather confusing. If I want to do as my teacher requests, how should I start with the simulation project in Xilinx ISE(vc707_fmc30rf.xise)?

Thanks!

arnaudNL May 08, 2014, 03:03 PM (#1)

• 4DSP Staff (EU)
  • Administrator
Dear Sir,

The simulation environment is covered by the CDxxx document part of the firmware source code. It describes how to launch the simulation.

There would be several ways to waive out the "life support", detailing these modifications is far beyond the scope of technical support but I will provide you with a few pointer with a big pleasure.

The first method would be to create/modify Xilinx ROM Init core part of the reference design with your own doctored values. You can figure out all the write required by analyzing the software source code or modify the software in order create a write operations table with the required values and addresses.

The second method would be to replace the mac engine star with a state machine star you create on your side. Then you would also be able to bring the chipset alive. This would also require a write operations table.

I hope that helps!

Best Regards,
Arnaud

rickyxrq May 12, 2014, 11:28 PM (#2)

Dear 4DSP,

Thanks for your help!

I am sorry but I may not fully understand the Reference Design and the implementation&simulation in Xilinx ISE Project Navigator before.

I read the simulation and implementation in Xilinx ISE Project Navigator these days and I came up with a solution. I don't know if it's possible to accomplish the goal as my solution: