Topic: Troubleshooting the precompiled bitstream for VC707  (Read 6022 times)

mattgran May 23, 2013, 01:07 PM

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Hi all,

I'm attempting to get some board communication going, but it's not working out so well.

I open iMPACT, and I see the CPLD and the FPGA. I bypass the CPLD (i.e. leave it alone) and program the FPGA with the bitstream from the Recovery directory, "348_vc707_fmc176.bit." I then open a command prompt and change directory over to "Bins." From there, my Fmc176APP.exe returns this output:
Code: [Select]
Number of devices found : 2
  0. \DEVICE\{6B0E5B94-39A4-4850-8611-EE527F708A2F}
     - Realtek PCIe FE Family Controller - Deterministic Network Enhancer Miniport
  1. \DEVICE\{39295E7B-A268-4F48-B5A9-3E1252CD8A54}
     - Realtek RTL8191SE 802.11b/g/n WiFi Adapter - Deterministic Network Enhancer Miniport
Seeing this, I run the command
Code: [Select]
Fmc176APP.exe 1 VC707 0 0.
However, it returns
Code: [Select]
Could not obtain sipcid table (error fffffff), exitingI've run through the FAQ and I have done everything it suggests. My jumpers are all in their default positions; the changes I have made are that SW2 is in position 01000000 and SW11 is in 11010. I have successfully run the Xilinx SGMII example from this configuration, so I believe my Ethernet communication is working. When I capture off my Ethernet controller, I see five packets come from QuantaCo_03:eb:a6, addressed to 34:44:53:50:30:31. They appear to be well formed, but I see no response on the line from the board. I've also built a binary from the extracted *.sdf file, but it also produces no output with the same process on the same configuration.


So what am I missing?

Kyu May 24, 2013, 11:27 AM (#1)

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 154

It sounds like you have done it correctly. We have seen that running application as administrator or disable the firewall solve the issue. I think we have tested the firmware with the default settings.


Thanks,
Kyu

mattgran May 28, 2013, 01:55 PM (#2)

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Thank you, Kyu.


I've tried running the application as an administrator, but I'm still not getting any response from the board. Do you happen to remember the settings you had for the DIP switches on your board?


Regards,
Matt

Kyu May 28, 2013, 03:38 PM (#3)

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 154

Matt,


I'm pretty sure that we used the default setting. SW2 is in all zero. SW11 has Flash_A[25:24] = 00 and FPGA_M[2:0] = 010. You can follow the Figure B-2 in the user guide.


Thanks,
Kyu

mattgran May 28, 2013, 03:53 PM (#4)

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Kyu,


Thanks for your reply. I have changed my switch positions (amounting to referencing a different starting address in flash), but still no results.  I'm out of debugging ideas at the moment; perhaps it is a hardware issue.


Regards,
Matt

Kyu May 28, 2013, 04:10 PM (#5)

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 154

Matt,


Do you have other Xilinx development boards? If yes, you can test the fmc176 on other board. If you needs a test firmware on the other boards, I can provide you. FMC176 firmwares are also available for ML605 and KC705.


Thanks,
Kyu

mattgran May 28, 2013, 04:15 PM (#6)

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Kyu,


Thank you for the offer, but I only have the VC707 development board to work with.


Best,
Matt

mattgran May 29, 2013, 01:15 PM (#7)

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Update: my Ethernet adapter does not, in fact, achieve 1 Gbps. I'll post back when I find a computer that does.

Kyu May 29, 2013, 03:48 PM (#8)

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 154
Matt,


I have tried fmc176 on vc707 and it worked fine. Following is what I got. Let me know when you try it with a new computer. We may issue an RMA.



 Number of devices found : 2
  0. \DEVICE\{49D7D782-DE7C-4E81-9259-4E3395166422}
     - Intel(R) 82574L Gigabit Network Connection
  1. \DEVICE\{D0C513C6-4FC0-43D8-9781-633880C1325C}
     - Intel(R) 82574L Gigabit Network Connection #2
Start of program
--------------------------------------
Constellation ID : 348
Number of Stars  : 7
Software Build   : 0x517065B9
Firmware Build   : 0x00000000
Firmware Version : 0.1
--------------------------------------


Found VC707 hardware


Thanks,
Kyu

Kyu May 29, 2013, 03:56 PM (#9)

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 154

Matt,


Could you also check the voltages on the fmc176 if possible? There are some test points available.


Thanks,
Kyu

mattgran May 29, 2013, 06:54 PM (#10)

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Kyu,
Thanks for being incredibly helpful throughout my ordeal. As it turns out, it was a simple case of switching back to a machine with a 1 Gsps Ethernet adapter. Now everything is working correctly.
All the best,
Matt