Topic: Synchronization of the two DACs on the FMC230  (Read 4533 times)

arydin May 13, 2013, 06:27 PM

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Hi,


I wonder if it is possible to use the synchronization feature referenced on page 43 of the datasheet http://www.analog.com/static/imported-files/data_sheets/AD9119_9129.pdf.
Is the SYNC signal routed out on the board?

Regards,
Andreas

arnaudNL May 14, 2013, 05:03 AM (#1)

  • 4DSP Staff (EU)
  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7110
Hello Andreas,
The SYNC signals are routed to two test points.
Best Regards,
Arnaud

arnaudNL May 14, 2013, 11:33 AM (#2)

  • 4DSP Staff (EU)
  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7110
Hello Andreas,
I got extra information. FMC230 has a specific manufacturing option called "-C64" which actually tell the factory to solder some wires between the test points and the FMC connector.
Keep in mind any soldering on the board will void the warranty so it would be better for you to ask 4DSP to modify the boards for you.
You can discuss that further with my sales colleagues or the place where you purchased your board.
Best Regards,
Arnaud

arydin May 15, 2013, 02:24 PM (#3)

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Hi Arnaud,

Thank you for your reply.

What pins is usually used for this on the FMC connector? Does the RTL for FMC230 with ML605 support this feature?

Andreas

arnaudNL May 15, 2013, 05:57 PM (#4)

  • 4DSP Staff (EU)
  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7110
Dear Andreas,
I would expect so, manufacturing options have to be tested properly so based on the there must be a reference design available verifying the hardware modifications.
Your sales contact in 4DSP should be able to give you more details, pricing for the modification!
Thanks,
Arnaud
 

arydin May 16, 2013, 08:16 PM (#5)

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Hi Arnaud,

Do you know which pins that is used on the FMC connector for the SYNC signals?

Andreas

arnaudNL May 17, 2013, 10:08 AM (#6)

  • 4DSP Staff (EU)
  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7110
Hello Andreas,
Not sure about that, most likely any unused FMC pins which are routed to the FPGA. It might be different FMC pins depending the carrier targetted.
Best Regards,
Arnaud