Topic: AD450 card returns error "Could obtain sipcid table (error fffffffb), exiting"  (Read 11129 times)

abhishek May 06, 2013, 06:24 AM

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Hi,
We are trying to access AD450 PMC card (AD482+AD250) using vxWorks driver supplied by 4DSP.


However on calling the function "tADC250(0)" ..it returns following & exits:



Start of program
--------------------------------------
Could obtain sipcid table (error fffffffb), exiting
value = -3 = 0xfffffffd


We checked that default FPGA firmware VHDL has 0x75 (117) as constellation ID & same was set in the supplied drivers also. Even than it returns "error fffffffb" related to wrong constellation ID.

[size=78%]-------------------------------------[/size]
Also using  the function "t4FMGetInfo("FM482", 0)" returns following:


FPGA A Revision = 0.10
Successfully read information from device 0
Information:
        FPGA A PCI Revision   : 0.10
        FPGA A Revision       : 3.4
        FPGA A Customer Nr.   : 0
        FPGA A Firmware Type  : 0
        FPGA A Has Ext. Infos : 0
        CPLD Revision         : 0.0
        Board Serial Number   : 0
        User ROM Value        : 0
        FPGA B Device Type    : XC4VLX40-10FF1148C
        FPGA B Revision       : 0.11.14
        FPGA B Firmware Type  : 1712
        On Board Memory       : QDR bank 2 and 0 available


------------------
In above data, FPGA-B device type is wrongly detected while ordered board configuration had " XC4VSX55" instead of  XC4VLX40.

Pl. suggest the reason for the same.

arnaudNL May 06, 2013, 08:16 AM (#1)

  • 4DSP Staff (EU)
  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7110
Hello,
Can you please provide me with a board serial number? I need to check if the hardware/software is covered by warranty or not.
The information displayed by t4FMGetInfo() is directly decoded from the BAR attached to our device. It looks like you are using a big endian (PowerPC) processor and our BSP only support Intel processors.
Best Regards,
Arnaud

abhishek May 06, 2013, 08:43 AM (#2)

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Dear Arnaud,

Thanks for quick reply. We had baught two cards:

1. AD450   (AD482+AD250) : Serial Number 68800004
2. VID471 (FM482 + FP-CL) : Serial Number 49470003


Yes, we are using big endian (PowerPC) processor (C102 from Aitech) running VxWorks. We had confirmed about using the PPC host during techincal clarifications before ordering.


Both the boards are having the same issue.


Regards,
Abhishek

arnaudNL May 06, 2013, 08:56 AM (#3)

  • 4DSP Staff (EU)
  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7110
Dear Abhishek,
I am surprised about that because we don't have any PowerPC mainboard available and we would have needed to obtain one in order to do validate VX support for PowerPC.
There is nothing I can do. The boards/bsps were delivered to Avnet India and are out of warrant unfortunately.
The best way to proceed is for you to contact sales@4dsp.com and discuss that with them.
Best Regards,
Arnaud
 
 

abhishek May 07, 2013, 01:08 AM (#4)

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9

Dear Arnaud,
Will surely contact through our supplier. But I guess warrenty support for other camera-link board (VID471-20-55-10I-AC-X , Serial Number 49470003) is still in support as it was purchased last year through Picosem Technology Pvt Ltd, India alongwith full BSP & VHDL reference codes.
Also I am not able to understand how it will not support big endian architecture beacause supplied vxWorks drivers contains logic to verify big-endian byte ordering [see line# 869 for (_BYTE_ORDER == _BIG_ENDIAN) in 4fmdrv.c ]

Thanks,
Abhishek

arnaudNL May 07, 2013, 06:42 AM (#5)

  • 4DSP Staff (EU)
  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7110
Dear Abhishek,
If you have order VID471 with a Vxworks BSP, then you might still be under warranty. If you have purchased a VID471 with default BSP (Windows), you can get support for Windows.
The endianness macro are there but the code was never verified on PowerPC. Fact is the Vxbus is already doing most of the endian conversion but still other places need to be asserted. We have not been doing that ourselves, we do have two customers who modified our BSP to PowerPC without asking any questions and they are happy with it.
I am not here to assert deliveries, pos, and sales but really technical support. I can tell you that the Vxworks BSP does not run as is on PowerPC. The ADC250 application will also need to be changed. Same for the VID471, I am not sure if we even have done VID471 on Vxworks, I assume not.
Best Regards,
Arnaud
 

abhishek May 09, 2013, 02:04 AM (#6)

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Hi,
Yes, VID471 was purchased along with a Vxworks BSP last year. The BSP (fm482_bsp_vx68_incl_picosemi_app.zip) was downloaded from 4DSP ftp site : ftp.4dsp.com (ftp://ftp.4dsp.com) with username/password provided in email. But It looks like neither AD450 BSP nor the VID471 BSP were fully tested. Both of them results in same errors.

We further tried to test FPGA-A DDR2 memory with  tFPGAAMemtest("FM482", 0, 1, 133) function. Initially function was exiting at line35.


Code: [Select]
if(freq<<85||freq>>180) {
printf("The target frequency should be 85..180MHz\n");
return -3;
}

then we corrected above statement as

Code: [Select]
if(freq<85||freq>180) {
printf("The target frequency should be 85..180MHz\n");

Now it passes above statement but with memory verification errors as shown below:

Quote
tFPGAAMemtest("FM482", 0, 1, 133)
Running FPGA A Memory test on device 'FM482' : Frequency=133MHz, size=1048576 by
tes.
The test application send random data to DDR2 memory, receive data from DDR2 mem
ory.
The test succeed if both data buffers are equal!
Initialize hardware: DONE
Allocating/Randomizing a transmit buffer: DONE
Sending data: DONE
Allocating a receive buffer: DONE
Receiving data: DONE
Comparing data: Error @0x0 : Expected=0x5674b741, Real=0x0
Error @0x1 : Expected=0x1662c295, Real=0x0
Error @0x2 : Expected=0x909f9479, Real=0x0
Error @0x3 : Expected=0xeae2a58c, Real=0x0
Error @0x4 : Expected=0xbbd690dc, Real=0x0
Error @0x6 : Expected=0x3be26188, Real=0x0
Error @0x7 : Expected=0x4c41a54a, Real=0x0
Error @0x8 : Expected=0xff5bae8, Real=0x0
Error @0x9 : Expected=0xb8e40943, Real=0x0
Error @0xa : Expected=0x542bca2f, Real=0x0
Error @0xb : Expected=0xa5cb4203, Real=0x0
Error @0xc : Expected=0xc111bce0, Real=0x0
Error @0xd : Expected=0x69c748c2, Real=0x0
Error @0xe : Expected=0x2a1d3648, Real=0x0
Error @0xf : Expected=0x35545043, Real=0x0
DONE
Found 262144 errors during verification
Success, transfered 1048576 bytes without error...
value = 0 = 0x0

----------------------------
It looks like all read data is zero. Can you please suggest the way further to get the BSP's working.


arnaudNL May 10, 2013, 04:02 AM (#7)

  • 4DSP Staff (EU)
  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7110
Dear Sir,
We of course tested these BSP. As I explained you already, the BSP will not run under PowerPC. You will need to either figure out which modifications are required on your own or contract 4DSP in order to make sure that it will run on your target hardware. It should not be that difficult as many other customers have been doing that without asking many questions.
Nothing will work up to the point you have correct communication with the BAR. I insist get in touch with the sales people and explained them you purchased a BSP for PowerPC but it does not work on your PowerPC system.
Best Regards,
Arnaud
 

abhishek June 01, 2013, 07:36 AM (#8)

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Dear Sir,
I tried to contact on 4DSP sales (sales@4dsp.com), but there is no response from them.
Also as suggested, we tried to test the BSP on intel x86 based single board computer as host (C160 from Aitech), still results are same.

Pl. find attached the log files captured from an x86 host (Aitech SBC C160). The 4DSP API returns the same data with & without the PMC boards being mounted on host (If card is not mounted then also API function returns no warning/error that PMC card is not mounted).


Regards,
Abhishek

arnaudNL June 03, 2013, 11:03 AM (#9)

  • 4DSP Staff (EU)
  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7110
Dear Sir,
As explained already your software warranty period has lapsed. You will need to purchase a technical support contract so we can help you further. Not sure what you have asked to your var/sales but looks like they are busy or they have asked your local VAR to take care of that.
Out of my curiosity, have you tried to run the hardware on Windows in order to make sure the hardware is fine?
You are not even entitled to support directly from 4DSP but this should come from our distributor (Avnet or another one), any email you get from me is already more than what I am supposed to do. Many customers uses this BSP.
Best Regards,
Arnaud

arnaudNL April 01, 2014, 07:59 AM (#10)

  • 4DSP Staff (EU)
  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7110
This topic is being closed because the issue is considered as resolved by 4DSP. Feel free to create a new topic for any further inquiries.